California overtime rules
Introduction to California overtime regulations
The laws governing overtime in California differ dramatically from those in most states. The basic rules require employers to pay time and a half after 8 hours worked, and double time after 12 hours worked in one workday. These statutes are among the most progressive labor laws in the country. However, there are exceptions to this law which can apply to healthcare workers, both staff and travelers. As such, it is incorrect to state categorically that time and a half after eight is the law of the land in California.
Click here to login or join to view the entire article.